+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 38 1 2 3 4 5 11 ... LastLast

Thread: any aquarium homies out there?

any aquarium homies out there?

I have your basic 10 gallon freshwater tank and I want to go to salt water, and get some live rock etc....

a) is it worth it in a 10 gallon tank

b) how much is it going to cost me to upgrade anything ... (i am doing tropical now so i have a heater)

and c) how much more science is involved

gracias.

thanks obama jt Definitely Shaggy upper class jt Definitely Shaggy upper class jt Definitely Shaggy upper class jt Definitely Shaggy upper class jt Definitely Shaggy upper class jt Definitely Shaggy upper class jt Definitely Shaggy upper class jt Definitely Shaggy upper class jt Definitely Shaggy upper class jt Definitely Shaggy upper class jt Definitely Shaggy upper class jt's Avatar
    a) not worth it at all imo. some people do nanoreefs in tiny aquariums, and i have zero experience there, but it seems like you should be pretty experienced w/ saltwater tanks before attempting that. you need a min 46/55g sized tank to be worth it for sw, imo.

b) if you go cheap, you can do everything under $500 w/ a 55g tank, over the back filter, heater and light. i would bet craislist is loaded w/ stuff right now w/ people trying to find $$$.

c) the science isn't hard at all. you follow the directions on the sw mix, add the right chems as directed, test, adjust...it's cake. i haven't tested my water in probably 5 years. once it's set, it's good to go. mind you, i have a 46g w/ another 20g sump below, 75(ish) lbs live rock, 4" live sand bed.

go here: http://www.reefcentral.com best site out there for saltwater information. i lived on that site for the first 2 years i had a tank.

here's some pics of mine over the years:

diy sump